CITY OF WESTMINSTER

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

At the Extraordinary Meeting of the Council of the City of Westminster held at 9.30 pm on Wednesday 12th November, 2014 at Porchester Hall, Porchester Road, Bayswater, London, W2 5DU.

PRESENT

The Lord Mayor, Councillor Audrey Lewis

COUNCILLORS

Heather Acton Ian Adams Nickie Aiken Edward Argar

Barbara Arzymanow

Daniel Astaire Richard Beddoe Rita Begum David Boothroyd

lain Bott
Ruth Bush
Melvyn Caplan
Danny Chalkley
Paul Church
Brian Connell
Thomas Crockett
Peter Cuthbertson
Robert Davis, DL
Tony Devenish

Paul Dimoldenberg Nick Evans

Christabel Flight Jean Paul Floru Murad Gassanly Jonthan Glanz

Barbara Grahame Lindsey Hall Angela Harvey David Harvey Richard Holloway

Adam Hug
Louise Hyams
Patricia McAllister
Guthrie McKie
Tim Mitchell

Adnan Mohammed Gotz Mohindra Nilavra Mukerji Jan Prendergast Papya Qureshi Vincenzo Rampulla

Robert Rigby
Rachael Robathan
Glenys Roberts
Philippa Roe
Ian Rowley

Karen Scarborough Andrew Smith Steve Summers Shamim Talukder Barrie Taylor

Cameron Thomson

Aziz Toki Judith Warner Jason Williams 1 NOTICE OF MOTION - HONORARY ALDERMAN: MR ALAN BRADLEY, MR MICHAEL BRAHAMS DL AND MR CYRIL NEMETH MBE, MA, MRCGP, JP, MRCP

The Motion, as set out in the agenda, was moved by Councillor Philippa Roe and seconded by Councillor Robert Davis.

The Motion, as set out in the agenda, was then put to the vote and on a show declared **CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY**.

RESOLVED:

That the Council confer the title of Honorary Alderman on:

- (a) Mr Alan Bradley MA, FIA, who was first elected as a Westminster City Councillor on 4 May 1978 and who retired in May 2014, served as a Councillor for 36 years. He represented the Tachbrook ward since 2002 and prior to that the St George's ward from 1978 to 2002. He served as Lord Mayor in 1995-1996.
- (b) Mr Michael Brahams, DL, who was first elected as a Westminster City Councillor on 3 May 1990 and who retired in May 2014 after 24 years service as a Councillor for Bayswater ward. Mr Brahams served as Lord Mayor in 2000-2001.
- (c) Dr Cyril Nemeth MBE, MA, MRCGP, JP, MRCP, who was elected as a City Councillor on 8 May 1986 and retired in May 2014, served as a Councillor for Abbey Road ward since 2002 and prior to that Lord's ward from 1986 to 2002. A total of 28 years service. He served as Lord Mayor in 1992 1993.

Over the years they have contributed so much to the work of the Council through their caring personality, wisdom, knowledge and vast experience between them undertaking the various roles of Cabinet Member and Chairmen of numerous committees. They have served the Council and people of Westminster with enormous dedication and the Council is asked to agree that they each be honoured by the conferring of the title of Honorary Alderman.

and

(d) Instruct the Chief Executive to make the necessary arrangements for the preparation and presentation of an address to the Honorary Alderman and authorise that the minor necessary expenditure be met from existing resources within the ceremonial budget.

The Meeting ended at 9.39 pm

CHAIRMAN:	DATE	